The Purpose of The Law of Moses?

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Hi J____,

Thanks for your questions. Your first question is “I want to know the seven books of Moses”:
There are no “seven books of Moses”. There are five books of Moses, and they are referred to as “the law”. Those five books are the first five books of the Bible, Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy. The next book in the Bible is Joshua, and Joshua did not write until after Moses Death:

Deu 34:1 And Moses went up from the plains of Moab unto the mountain of Nebo, to the top of Pisgah, that is over against Jericho. And the LORD shewed him all the land of Gilead, unto Dan,
Deu 34:2 And all Naphtali, and the land of Ephraim, and Manasseh, and all the land of Judah, unto the utmost sea,
Deu 34:3 And the south, and the plain of the valley of Jericho, the city of palm trees, unto Zoar.
Deu 34:4 And the LORD said unto him, This is the land which I sware unto Abraham, unto Isaac, and unto Jacob, saying, I will give it unto thy seed: I have caused thee to see it with thine eyes, but thou shalt not go over thither.
Deu 34:5 So Moses the servant of the LORD died there in the land of Moab, according to the word of the LORD.
Deu 34:6 And he buried him in a valley in the land of Moab, over against Bethpeor: but no man knoweth of his sepulchre unto this day.
Deu 34:7 And Moses was an hundred and twenty years old when he died: his eye was not dim, nor his natural force abated.
Deu 34:8 And the children of Israel wept for Moses in the plains of Moab thirty days: so the days of weeping and mourning for Moses were ended.
Deu 34:9 And Joshua the son of Nun was full of the spirit of wisdom; for Moses had laid his hands upon him: and the children of Israel hearkened unto him, and did as the LORD commanded Moses.
Deu 34:10 And there arose not a prophet since in Israel like unto Moses, whom the LORD knew face to face,
Deu 34:11 In all the signs and the wonders, which the LORD sent him to do in the land of Egypt to Pharaoh, and to all his servants, and to all his land,
Deu 34:12 And in all that mighty hand, and in all the great terror which Moses shewed in the sight of all Israel.

The sixth book in the Bible is the book of Joshua. The seventh book of scripture is the book of Judges, and it covers all the years Israel was governed by the judges, before Kings Saul and King David. Look at the index at the front of your Bible to see the list of the books of the Bible and you will see them listed as I have laid them out here.
I hope these verses of scripture have answered that question for you.
Your second question is “Why are they called the seven books of Moses?”
Again there are only five, and they are called the ‘books of Moses’ because Moses was inspired by God to write them.

Joh 7:19 Did not Moses give you the law, and yet none of you keepeth the law? Why go ye about to kill me?
2Ti 3:16 All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness: (CLV)
2Pe 1:20 knowing this first, that no prophecy of scripture at all is becoming its own explanation.”
2Pe 1:21 For not by the will of man was prophecy carried on at any time, but, being carried on by holy spirit, holy men of God speak. (CLV)

Your third question is: “what are their meanings?” The law of Moses is typified by the tree of the knowledge of good and evil. It was added to what God had instructed Adam and Eve and their children concerning how to worship Him:

Gen 3:21 Unto Adam also and to his wife did the LORD God make coats of skins, and clothed them.
Gen 3:22 And the LORD God said, Behold, the man is become as one of us, to know good and evil: and now, lest he put forth his hand, and take also of the tree of life, and eat, and live for ever:
Gen 3:23 Therefore the LORD God sent him forth from the garden of Eden, to till the ground from whence he was taken.
Gen 3:24 So he drove out the man; and he placed at the east of the garden of Eden Cherubims, and a flaming sword which turned every way, to keep the way of the tree of life.

The tree of the knowledge of good and evil reveals to us our sins, but it does not provide for us “the way of the tree of life” which we are told is Christ.
Here are the New Testament verses which show us what these two trees typify:

Rom 7:7 What shall we say then? Is the law sin? God forbid. Nay, I had not known sin, but by the law: for I had not known lust, except the law had said, Thou shalt not covet.
Joh 14:6 Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.
Rev 2:7 He that hath an ear, let him hear what the Spirit saith unto the churches; To him that overcometh will I give to eat of the tree of life, which is in the midst of the paradise of God.

Putting all these verses together, it is clear that since Christ is “the way… and the life”, the “way of the tree of life” is Christ Himself.
Adam had to eat of the tree of the knowledge of good and evil before he could eat of the tree of life. We all must be “the first man Adam” before we can be “the last Adam”. We must all first be under the law of Moses before we can be under the “law of faith… the law of the spirit of life in Christ Jesus”.
Here are the scriptures which reveal all of this:

Gal 3:22 But the scripture hath concluded all under sin, that the promise by faith of Jesus Christ might be given to them that believe.
Gal 3:23 But before faith came, we were kept under the law, shut up unto the faith which should afterwards be revealed.
Gal 3:24 Wherefore the law was our schoolmaster to bring us unto Christ, that we might be justified by faith.
Gal 3:25 But after that faith is come, we are no longer under a schoolmaster.
Rom 8:2 For the law of the Spirit of life in Christ Jesus hath made me free from the law of sin and death.

So the law of Moses is not for a righteous man. It is for the lawless and for sinners:

1Ti 1:9 Knowing this, that the law is not made for a righteous man, but for the lawless and disobedient, for the ungodly and for sinners, for unholy and profane, for murderers of fathers and murderers of mothers, for manslayers,
1Ti 1:10 For whoremongers, for them that defile themselves with mankind, for menstealers, for liars, for perjured persons, and if there be any other thing that is contrary to sound doctrine;

I hope these verses serve to answer your questions about the purpose for the law of Moses. It is for the lawless and disobedient. It is not for the righteous. It is our schoolmaster to bring us to Christ so we can be justified by faith, but after faith is come we are no longer under a schoolmaster.
After “the faith of Jesus” is come, we are then under the law of the spirit of life in Christ Jesus, as expressed in Mat 5-7, and throughout the New Testament.
For an in- depth study of the purpose for the first five books of the Bible, the books of Moses, read the long article on iswasandwillbe. com entitled The Law of Moses Versus The Law of The Spirit. It is at this link:
http:// iswasandwillbe. com/ freefromlaw. php
Your fourth and last question was: “In which part of the bible can we find them?
The books of Moses are to be found at the front of every Bible. They are Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy.

Your brother in Christ,

Other related posts